Love Cries Out for Those Who Have Ears to Hear

There seem to be so many definitions of love today and definitely love is manifested in diverse ways.  If God is love and love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; [a]bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails;

Then  it  must follow that God is all these things and that He, also, never fails.  But in a world so confused, perverted from His original purpose and with the ability to choose its own path, Love appears to struggle in it’s manifestation.

We look for identities still in what we do, who we know and how many are on the same path as we are.  Paul states in the Word that we should imitate him as he imitates the one he follows.  Can we say the same?

Throughout the years I have run across many people in the world who have a bad opinion of so-called believers and their actions and words.   And in the same conversation, they will tell me that I’m different from the other “christians” they’ve met.

There was a time when I would have embraced the term, “Christian”. I am not opposed to others using the term, but I prefer to tell them I have one Father, one Messiah, and I follow the way His Word teaches.  I go where and when he says, Go and I leave when He says , “Leave”, but I always present myself as loving in the way my Father also loved and His Son.
I know not everyone who calls themselves, “Christians” defines themselves the same way, but shouldn’t our actions speak loudly of the love and forgiveness we have received.  There is much in the world that is not love, but is defined as such.  I cannot speak for the actions of another, but only for my own.  I pray we all take time to examine ourselves and the walk we choose and the One we claim to serve and be sure that all agree before others call us ‘hypocrites’ and condemn not only us but the One we claim to serve.  To be persecuted for righteousness sake does not mean because we think we are right and others disagree that we are persecuted; not to say, there aren’t times when we are right in the eyes of God and others persecute us for having the audacity to speak His truth in the midst of a dark generation.

Leave a Reply

